Lentil Pilaf

I grew up loving lentil soup.  Being Italian meant it was served to me with beans and olive oil.  Being a vegan works well with loving lentils because they are so good for you.  Lentils also contain the third-highest levels of protein found in legumes which makes them a natural selection for vegetarians and vegans.

Having made the lifestyle switch to more healthy eating I think its great for me to look at the recipes I have long loved and made and to know that with a few simple product or ingredient switch’s I can still eat my favorite things.  Along with my love for all things lentil is this fun and easy to prepare recipe.

Lentil Pilaf

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The finished product – Lentil Pilaf. © Photo by Florence Ricchiazzi Lince

Ingredients

2 TBLS grapeseed oil

1 small onion, diced

1 TBLS minced garlic

2 c. brown rice (cooked is fastest)

2/3 c. lentils (soaked or soft is fastest)

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Start by sauteeing the onions and garlic together in some grapeseed oil.  © Photo by Florence Ricchiazzi Lince

Start by sauteeing the onions and garlic together in some grapeseed oil. © Photo by Florence Ricchiazzi Lince

  1.  Place diced onion, grapeseed oil and mined garlic in a frying pan.
  2. Saute until translucent, approximately 10 minutes.
  3. Add cooked rice and lentils to the pan.
  4. Pour in vegetable broth.
  5. Add in salt and pepper.
  6. Allow to blend together on a low heat for 10-15 minutes if using cooked rice and soft lentils.  If using uncooked rice and firm lentils allow to cook 20-30 minutes on a higher flame to let the rice and lentils cook.  Cook long enough to allow the broth to be mostly absorbed by the rice.
  7. Serve warm.

I usually have several cups of cooked rice on hand at all times.  I always make my rice with vegetable broth.  This tends to give any dish an extra sweet flavor.

I also have two cups of every bean soaking at all times in my refrigerator.  I always have a need for adding beans to one of my recipes.  I like having the ability to have them always on hand.  I do not buy canned beans.  I buy beans in bulk and we cook and eat them fresh.

I served this as a side with my black bean burgers.  The spice in the black bean burger (recipe forthcoming soon) and the sweet flavor from the lentil pilaf was a great combination.

As always if you try this recipe I hope you will share with me your thoughts and if you have any recipes you think I might enjoy I hope to hear from you.

Florence Lince

about.me/leanmeanandvegan

Leave a comment